Last Week’s Work – w/c 13th Nov’

On Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday morning, I was in University for the final part of Week 2 of my MA course. We developed basic improvisatory skills, learned the basics of fundraising, and on Tuesday spent the day with a practising Music Therapist, who gave us a little insight into what this profession entails. In the past I have considered Music Therapy as a career, and this day once again made me think it might, at some point, be for me. Based on case studies that were presented to us, it seemed like I would, at the moment, find it too emotionally challenging, as I am not always good at distancing myself from the emotions and problems of others. However, we were given a lot of useful ideas for activities that could be used, both in Music Therapy and in Community Music practice, and the whole day was really fascinating.

My first time being in charge of a workshop for the elderly was on Wednesday, at the care home near university. I was accompanied by one volunteer, and we went armed with songbooks, percussive instruments, a viola and a bassoon. In order to ‘warm up’, and ensure all our participants were engaged, we began by introducing them to the bassoon, and Ellie (volunteer) then played an accompaniment to ‘The Teddy bears’ Picnic’ whilst we sang and bashed along. After the last one of these workshops, I was conscious that not all participants were actively involved, so this time I made an effort to go around, with an instrument of my own, keeping a percussive beat and encouraging them to do the same. Although this was not 100% successful, I did feel that most people were much more engaged than the last time I visited. After singing a few popular songs, we took a break and I played a movement from a Bach ‘Cello Suite on my viola. Most people seemed to enjoy this, but one slightly cheeky older person, who only seems to like music if she can whistle along to it, was less than impressed. However, she did seem remarkably positively at the end of our session! After singing a few more songs, Ellie and I played ‘Salut d’Amour’, with her playing the melody and me playing the piano part on viola. This was well received, even by our resident complainer (this was much easier to accompany with whistles!) To finish, we played a track through the speakers that one of the residents had ‘requested’ in the last session – a 1940s track called ‘Deep Purple’.

On Friday, I covered for another member of the MEG Committee, and led a workshop at a local Neurological Rehabilitation Centre. This was a slightly disorganised hour, as neither myself nor the contact at the centre were the usual person-in-charge, and so we muddled through a bit, and worked it out as we went along. However, all the participants seemed engaged, and what’s more, seemed to really enjoy singing and beating along. The overarching content of the workshop was much the same as our Wednesday workshop with the older people, and again it was myself and Eleanor. Here though, the disparity in ability was more noticeable – some people were entirely verbal, but had little control over their hands, others were more or less entirely non-verbal, but had complete muscle control, and so on… A number of the residents picked songs that they knew, and staff members picked out songs that they had worked on together. The residents were completely silent during mine and Eleanor’s bassoon and viola duet of ‘Salut d’Amour’, which according to the staff leader has never happened before, so we were very happy!

In the evening, I performed in my first concert at the University of York, with Chimera – the modern music ensemble. I was, overall, very happy with my performance. Although I was slightly nervous, I didn’t make any significant mistakes, even in my solo moment, which is progress for me!

On Sunday, I had a rehearsal for the Sheffield Sgt. Pepper Project. This is a really exciting gig that I’m going to be a part of on Saturday (25th November) at the 02 in Sheffield. A band of around 30 musicians will be playing the whole of The Beatles’ Sgt Pepper and Musical Mystery Tour albums. As a largely classical and occasionally folk musician, this is definitely up there with the most exciting gigs I have ever done.

Leave a comment